Honorary Memberships

Honorary Membership is conferred upon a member of EAGE who has made a highly significant and distinguished technical and/or non-technical contribution to the geoscience community at large or to EAGE in particular.


The EAGE Honorary Membership 2019 was conferred upon:

Snezana Komatina

In her long and varied career Snežana Komatina has demonstrated tireless effort in promoting geosciences to the local scientific public and bridging the gap between local and international societies. She has been an inspiring mentor and teacher in Serbia with an outstanding record of publication and engagement with students, the industry and the wider public. Among her many fields of expertise are earthquake seismology, exploration geophysics, hydrogeology and environmental geophysics. Professor Komatina is the long-standing president of the Association of Geophysicists and Environmentalists of Serbia (AGES). Under her leadership this initially small society attracted international membership and became known world-wide through research projects such as Geophysicists without Borders. For many years she has been deeply committed to humanitarian work as a geophysicist, analysing the effects of environment on human health and co-authoring the book Medical geology: effects of geological environments on human health among her many publications in this field. Professor Komatina is the driving force behind much of the joint collaboration in humanitarian geoscience between experts from all over the world and from all sorts of industries. For all her contributions Professor Snežana Komatina is awarded Honorary Membership.


Past winners of the EAGE Honorary Membership Award 

2018 Mohammed Alfaraj
Ian Jones
Aldo Vesnaver
Satinder Chopra
Olivier Dubrule
Lars Sønneland
Neil Goulty
2015 Richard Ogilvy
2014 Andrew McBarnet
2014 Jacob Fokkema
2013 Roger Arthur Clark
2012 Robert Mitchum
2012 Paul F. Worthington
2011 Phil Christie
2011 Tijmen Jan Moser
2010 Bill Dragoset
2010 Geoff King
2010 Markku Peltoniemi
2010 Peter Duncan
2010 Werner Liebl
2009 Etienne Robein
2009 Mike Bacon
2008 Bjorn Ursin
2008 Jim Cain
2008 Roger Lott
2008 Roel Nicolai
2007 Dragi Stefanovic
2007 Sven Treitel
2006 Augustinus Berkhout
2006 Edward Szaraniec
2005 Alfred Frasheric
2005 Tamás Bodoky
2005 Roy White
2004 Anthony Spencer
2004 Donald H. Griffiths
2003 J.J. Nooteboom
2003 G. Zuncke
2003 L. Thomsen
2003 P. Hubral
2002 V. Cerveny
2002 V. Bardan
2001 J.-C. Grosset
2001 M. Al-Chalabi
2000 J.F. Claerbout
1999 T. Taner
1999 N. Savostyanov
1999 D.S. Parasnis
1998 E. van der Gaag
1998 I. Gausland
1998 D. March
1998 F. Rocca
1995 G. Grau
1994 M.J.G. Cox
1993 D.G.Cane
1992 S.E. Saxov
1992 W. Goudswaard
1989 K. Helbig
1988 A.W. Smit
1988 D. Michon
1988 Th. Krey
1988 A.A Fitch
1986 N.A. Anstey
1985 P.N.S. O'Brien
1976 H.J. Hoogeveen
1964 V. Baranov
1963 O. Koefoed
1963 B.Baars
1958 A. van Weelden