First Break           EarthDoc           Learning Geoscience

Nurturing Future Leaders

EAGE Sustainable Energy Young Professionals Award "Marie Tharp"

In 2023, the geoscience and engineering community has endeavored to advance the energy transition more than ever. To anticipate further transformations and the need to innovate, we are proud to announce the launch of the new EAGE Sustainable Energy Young Professionals Award, “Marie Tharp”, dedicated to promising and creative talents among the next generation of leaders who are committed to the idea of transforming energy systems and speed up the global energy transition.

What is the “Marie Tharp” Award?

Named after the renowned geologist and oceanographic cartographer Marie Tharp, this recognition is a legacy between past and future generations to encourage students to explore beyond boundaries.

This Award signifies perseverance, willpower, and excellence in conserving our planet, whose understanding and explanation have been shaped by Marie Tharp’s imaginative thinking and transformative discoveries. 

A new leadership paradigm requires an associated talent strategy, and the Marie Tharp Award is not merely a recognition; it is a catalyst for future leaders, providing a way to cast a spotlight on young talents in the geoscience and engineering community and accelerate the change needed for a sustainable future. 

Nomination Eligibility 

Eligible candidates must be MSc and Ph.D. students who are pursuing a college curriculum directed toward a career in geoscience and engineering to support the clean energy transition. 

Candidates must apply directly and cannot be nominated by others.

Submission Procedure

The submission consists of a nomination package that must be sent to

The Nomination package must be submitted by 11:59p.m. on March 1st, 2024. 

Application Process

  • Your CV 
  • Your list of publications (if applicable)
  • A nomination letter outlining your motivation, achievements, and ongoing projects.


The letter should emphasize the student’s plans to contribute to advancing practices in the field of energy transition and the commitment to the geoscience and engineering community, as well as EAGE, in this domain. 

The awardee will receive a grant to attend the EAGE GET Conference 2024. Participation in the conference will not only serve to recognize their contributions but also provide an invaluable opportunity to network with industry experts, gain insights into the latest advancements, and further fuel their passion for driving positive change in the energy transition landscape.

Nominate now! 



Siddharth Misra


Prof Dr Siddharth Misra’s research focuses on improving subsurface characterization and prospect evaluation for the exploration of hydrocarbons, minerals and water resources.

His major contribution is in the theory of electromagnetic responses of geological formations to various charge polarization phenomena. The theory has enabled him to introduce a multi-frequency electromagnetic log-inversion technique to remove dielectric effects for improved estimation of hydrocarbon pore volume.


           First Break           EarthDoc