First Break           EarthDoc           Learning Geoscience

Student Support

Scholarships & Awards

Student Support

Scholarships & Awards

Gustavo Sclocchi Award

The Gustavo Sclocchi Award is a cooperation between EAGE, SPE (Society of Petroleum Engineers – Italian Section), and Assomineraria (Italian Petroleum and Mining Industry Association – Hydrocarbon and Geothermal Resources Sector).

The awards are for the best theses in geosciences and petroleum engineering presented by any university and diploma graduates, and Ph.D. students from Italian universities, and Italian nationals who have graduated abroad. 

The awards started in 1993 and since 2001 have been associated with the late Gustavo Sclocchi, an Eni manager, who was the main promoter of the event and award series. Over the last 26 years, 785 theses have been submitted out of which 145 have won awards. 

The 28th  Sclocchi Award ceremony

The 29th Sclocchi Awards is open for submissions, all information for applications is here.

Motivated candidates shall apply by February 28th, 2022.

Thomsen / BP Scholarship

This scholarship is a cooperation project between the EAGE Student Fund and SEG scholarship committees. There are two full-time student scholarships, one at a North America University and one at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, United Kingdom.

Grace Marguerite OjalaMichigan Technological University2021
Rasool Amiri KolajoobiHeriot-Watt University 2021
Faith Osasogie ObasuyHeriot-Watt University 2020
Katherine BiegelUniversity of Calgary2020
Antony Richard Hallam Heriot-Watt University 2019
Alexander R Lomeli-AzoubelUniversity of Pennsylvania 2019
Marianna Karagiannis University of Chicago2018
Lee Jean Wong Heriot-Watt University 2018
Gustavo CorteHeriot-Watt University 2017

Requirements and opening of next year’s scholarship applications will be announced soon.


Siddharth Misra


Prof Dr Siddharth Misra’s research focuses on improving subsurface characterization and prospect evaluation for the exploration of hydrocarbons, minerals and water resources.

His major contribution is in the theory of electromagnetic responses of geological formations to various charge polarization phenomena. The theory has enabled him to introduce a multi-frequency electromagnetic log-inversion technique to remove dielectric effects for improved estimation of hydrocarbon pore volume.


           First Break           EarthDoc