First Break           EarthDoc           Learning Geoscience

EAGE Local Chapter Czech Republic announces winners of annual competition for students

Academic year 2022/2023

The Vlastislav Červený Student Prize is an initiative of our Local Chapter Czech Republic as a recognition of excellence in two categories: Best Master’s and Best Bachelor’s thesis.

A partnership of multiple organizations – including RWE Gas Storage CZ, Seismik, GImpuls and the Geophysical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences – supported this year’s edition (the eleventh). Starting from 2023, the prize was also entitled to Prof V. Červený, a former honorary member of EAGE, who died at the age of 90 in 2022 and devoted a large part of his life work to teaching young generations of geoscientists.

The winners, as listed below, will receive a cash prize offered by the supporting partners, as well as a free EAGE membership subscription for 2024 and one EAGE course of their choice from the Learning Geoscience platform. In addition to that, the commission decided to exceptionally award two honorary mentions who will receive a free 2024 EAGE student membership too.

According to the commission of reviewers, this was the most competitive edition yet, with many high quality submissions, and we wish to congratulate all students who participated.


If you are a student, make sure to explore all the opportunities the Association has for you, ranging from engagement with our Local Chapters and Technical Communities, to competitions, free learning resources, dedicated discounts on courses and events, and more!

Join EAGE or renew your membership




The organizer of the competition is EAGE Local Chapter Czech Republic (LC EAGE Czech Republic z.s., Kubišova 1265/8, 182 00 Prague 8, Czech Republic).


Supporting partners

The competition was supported by RWE Gas Storage CZ, Seismik, GImpuls, the Geophysical Institute of the Czech Academy of Sciences and EAGE. EAGE contributed to this edition of the competition by providing funding via its PACE Event Support programme and part of the prizes. EAGE is not responsible for the organization of the activities related to this initiative.





Academic yearWinnerAffiliationThesis title
2011/2012Filip Kostka (Bachelor’s thesis)Charles University (Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Informatics)Quasidynamic modeling of tectonic faults: segmentation of earthquakes
2012/20131. Radek Klanica (Bachelor’s thesis)

2. Oskar Vaško (Bachelor’s thesis)
Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)1. Effects of cultural noise in natural magnetotelluric signals

2. Seismograph installation and complex analysis of recorded data
2013/20141. Žaneta Novotná (Bachelor’s thesis)

2. Martin Mazanec (Bachelor’s thesis)

3. Martin Mityska (Master’s thesis)
Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)1. Location and survey of the historical masonry using geophysical methods

2. Fundaments for the construction of the magnetometer from the carbon nanotubes for geological purposes

3. Distribution of noise sources recorded by the WEBNET network seismic stations and the velocity model of S-waves propagation in the upper crust of the seismicly active region of Western Bohemia gained on the base of seismic interferometry
2014/20151. Marek Kozoň (Bachelor’s thesis)

2. Michaela Káňová (Master’s thesis)
Charles University (Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Informatics)1. Thermal Evolution of Saturn's Moon Enceladus

2. Evolution of terrestrial exoplanets
2016/2017Martin Mazanec (Master’s thesis)Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)Statistical analysis of natural and induced seismicity catalogues
2017/2018David Hanák (Master’s thesis)Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)Data processing of well log complex
2018/20191. Martin Šuťjak (Master’s thesis)

2. Jozef Müller (Bachelor’s thesis)
Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)1. Effect of the pre- and syn-depositional tectonics on the development of delta and its fan on the rifted continental margin; northern Exmouth Plateau

2. Focal mechanisms of earthquakes in the secondary focal zones in West Bohemia (thesis in Slovak)
2019/2020Václav Fait (Master’s thesis)Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)Time-domain electromagnetics and its applications for prospection of maar volcanoes
2020/20211. Galina Simeonova (Master’s thesis)

2. Jaroslav Jaroš (Bachelor’s thesis, Honorary)
1. Comenius University in Bratislava (Faculty of Mathematics, Physics and Informatics), and University of Vienna

2. Charles University (Math and Physics)
1. Upper mantle structure beneath wider Vienna Basin from array analysis of surface waves

2. Gravitational signal of model of Earth crust
2021/20221. Sophie Authried (Master’s thesis)

2. Francesco Colosimo (Bachelor’s thesis, Honorary)
1. University of Vienna and Comenius University in Bratislava

2. Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)
1. Investigation of effects of poroelasticity on seismic wave speed in Argostoli, Greece

2. Real-time magnitude estimation using MEMS-based accelerometers
2022/20231. Timothée Delcourt (Master's thesis)

2. Patrick Pfammatter (Bachelor's thesis)

3. Barbora Marešová (Bachelor's thesis, Honorary)

3. Zbyněk Fojt (Master's thesis, Honorary)
1. ETH Zurich

2. ETH Zurich

3.Charles University (Faculty of Natural Sciences)

4. Masaryk University (Faculty of Science)
1. Is there no free lunch in low dimensional parameter estimation?

2. Seismic tomography of an alpine landslide using Distributed Acoustic Sensing.

3. Geophysical prospection of Early Medieval settlements

4. Landslides near Semanín fault between Ústí nad Orlicí and Semanín

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Siddharth Misra


Prof Dr Siddharth Misra’s research focuses on improving subsurface characterization and prospect evaluation for the exploration of hydrocarbons, minerals and water resources.

His major contribution is in the theory of electromagnetic responses of geological formations to various charge polarization phenomena. The theory has enabled him to introduce a multi-frequency electromagnetic log-inversion technique to remove dielectric effects for improved estimation of hydrocarbon pore volume.


           First Break           EarthDoc